Heart, history and a hero: Getting from good to good enough by Pat Zietlow Miller

Excellent read.

Nerdy Book Club

quickest kid in clarksvilleWhen I sit down to write, I almost always begin with an idea.

But a lot can happen along the way.

And where I begin – even if the idea is good – isn’t always where I end up.

Which is exactly what happened in the case of THE QUICKEST KID IN CLARKSVILLE, my new picture book from Chronicle.

When I started, I had a simple idea. Two girls, competing to see who was more athletic. There was running. And jumping. And rope-skipping. An initial I’m-not-sure-I-like-you reaction, followed by shared interests and friendship.

It seemed zippy. Generally, I was pleased.

But, I wasn’t sure the story was strong enough to stand out on bookshelves full of other titles. The story was fine. Maybe even good. But I couldn’t shake the feeling it wasn’t good enough.

It needed something to make people want to choose it over other options. But…

View original post 521 more words

Heart, history and a hero: Getting from good to good enough by Pat Zietlow Miller

Leave a Reply

