Book Review: The Power and The Glory by Graham Greene

Reading in the Rain

COZd3gFWwAA9Xmw

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“Hope was an instinct only the reasoning human mind could kill. An animal never knew despair.” 

You may have seen me briefly talk about this book in my video about Settings on my YouTube channel but of course I had to give it a full review as this story just blew me away. I think the reason I enjoyed The Power and the Glory  so much all stems from the setting and it’s vivid descriptions. Set in Mexico in the 1840’s (???) we follow the ‘Whisky Priest’ try to survive the persecution of Roman Catholicism and to rescue himself from sin. I felt like I was there with him the entire time; congratulating him on his successes and despairing for his falls. Everything felt so real, even though Greene didn’t describe every little detail, he did enough to let you imagine everything; it was like seeing things through a…

View original post 321 more words

Book Review: The Power and The Glory by Graham Greene

Leave a Reply

